VDA 2005 Home Submission Info Past Conferences Venue
Conference on Visualization and Data Analysis 2005 (5669)
Part of IS&T/SPIE's International Symposium on Electronic Imaging 2005

17-18 January 2005, San Jose Marriott and San Jose Convention Center, San Jose, California, USA



Description
This conference covers all aspects of visualization and issues affecting successful visualizations. The conference has grown rapidly over the years and has attracted participants from throughout the world. Submissions are peer reviewed with an acceptance rate of ~50% making the quality of the conference and its publications extremely high. We invite you to contribute quality papers covering research results as well as works-in-progress. 

The papers from this conference will be published in a bound proceedings available from SPIE. Authors of the best papers in the conference will have the option of having extended versions of their papers reviewed for publication in the Journal of Electronic Imaging or a future special issue of the Journal of Electronic Imaging focusing on visualization.

Example topics include, but are not limited to:

  • Analysis Techniques and Data Mining
  • Biomedical Visualization and Applications
  • Data Exploration Using Classical and Novel approaches
  • Databases and Visualization
  • High Performance Computing and Parallel Rendering
  • Information and Scientific Visualization
  • Interaction Paradigms and Human Factors
  • Internet Imaging, Medical Imaging, Image Processing
  • Internet, Web, and Security Visualizations
  • Perceptual Issues covering Visual and Auditorial Representations of Data
  • Tools and Applications (Including Case Studies)
  • Virtual Environments and Data Visualization
  • Visual Data Mining
  • Volume and Flow Visualization
  • Generic Visualization Frameworks and Infrastructures

The conference organizers will also accept poster only presentations, suggestions on panel topics, and suggestions for invited speakers. Full paper submissions are due from authors July 6, 2004. Poster only submissions must include a 2 page extended abstract.
Final papers are due 20 December 20th, 2004.

Technical Program
http://electronicimaging.org/program/05/conferences/index.cfm?fuseaction=5669

Proceedings
Erbacher, Robert F., Chen, Philip C., Roberts, Jonathan C., Groehn, Matti and Börner, Katy (Eds.). Visualization and Data Analysis. Proceedings of SPIE 2003, ISBN 0-8194-4809-5.


Conference Chairs

Robert F. Erbacher, <Robert.Erbacher@usu.edu>

Phone: 435-797-3291, Fax: 435-797-3265
Department of Computer Science, Utah State University
Old Main 414, Logan, UT 84322-4205, USA
Katy Börner, <katy@indiana.edu>

Phone: (812) 855-3256, Fax: (812) 855-6166
Indiana University, School of Library and Information Science
10th Street & Jordan Avenue, Main Library 019, Bloomington, IN 47405, USA

Matti Gröhn, <Matti.Grohn@csc.fi>

Phone: +358 9 4572725, Fax +358 9 457 2302
CSC - Scientific Computing Ltd
P.O. Box 405, 02101 Espoo, Finland
Jonathan C. Roberts, <j.c.roberts@kent.ac.uk>

Telephone: +44 1227 827571, Facsimile: +44 1227 762811
Computing Laboratory, University of Kent
Canterbury, Kent, CT2 7NF, UK


Conference Co-Chairs

Ming Hao, <ming_hao@hp.com>

Phone: (650) 857-3664, Fax: (650) 852-8137
Hewlett-Packard Co.
1501 Page Mill Road, MS 1u2, Palo Alto, CA 94304, USA

Pak Chung Wong, <pak.wong@pnl.gov>

Phone: 509 372 4764, Fax: 509 375 364
Energy Science and Technology Division
Pacific Northwest National Laboratory, P.O. Box 999, K7-28, Richland, WA 99352, USA


Program Committee

U. Brinkschulte, <brinks@ira.uka.de>

Phone: +49 721 608 - 3898/4362, Fax: +49 721 661732
University of Karlsruhe, Institut für Prozessrechentechnik
Automation und Robotik Universität, Karlsruhe (TH)
Haid-und-Neu-Str. 7, D-76131 Karlsruhe, Germany

Philip Chen, <pchen@futurevisions.net>

Phone: (818) 594-0564
Multimedia & Visualization Specialist, Future, Inc.
6959 Oakdale Ave, Canoga Park, CA 91306, USA

Steve Eick, <eick@sss-research.com>

Phone: 630-281-4507 (voice), 630-561-7897 (cell) Fax: (630) 281-4466
SSS Research, Inc, 650 Warrenville Road, Suite 100A
Lisle, IL 60532, USA

L. Eric Greenwade, <leg@inel.gov>
Phone: (208) 526-1276, Fax: (208) 526-4017
INEEL, Idaho National Engineering and Environmental Laboratory
Lockheed Martin Idaho Technologies Co.
P.O. Box 1625, Idaho Falls, ID 83415-3605, USA
Ing. Hans-George Pagendarm, <pagendarm@dlr.de>
Phone: +49 (551) 709-2407, Fax: +49 (551) 709-2446
Deutsche Forschungsanstalt fuer Luftund Raumfahrt
German Aerospace Research, Establishment (DLR)
Institute for Fluid Mechanics, Bunsenstr. 10, D - 37073 Göttingen, Germany
Aaron J. Quigley, <aquigley@it.usyd.edu.au
Phone: (+61) 2 9351 4156
Smart Internet Technology Research Group
University of Sydney 
School of Information Technologies 
NSW, 2006, Australia 
Deborah Silver, <silver@caip.rutgers.edu
Dept. of Electrical and Computer Engineering
Rutgers University, P.O. Box 909
Piscataway, NJ 08855-0909, USA
Chris Shaw, <cdshaw at cc.gatech.edu>

Phone: (404) 894-6328, Fax: (404) 894-2970
GVU Center, College of Computing, Georgia Tech , 801 Atlantic Drive
Atlanta, Georgia 30332-0280, USA

Yinlong Sun, <sun@cs.purdue.edu>

Phone: (765) 496-7345; Fax: (765) 494-0739
Dept of Computer Sciences, 250 North University Street, Purdue University
W. Lafayette, IN 47907-1398, USA

Alex Pang, <pang@cse.ucsc.edu>

Phone: (831) 459-2712, Fax: (831) 459-4829
Computer Science Department, University of California
Santa Cruz, CA 95064, USA

J. Edward Swan II, <swan@acm.org>
Phone: 202-404-4984, FAX: 202-767-1122
The Naval Research Laboratory, Code 5580, Building 34, Room 218A
4555 Overlook Ave SW, Washington, DC 20375-5320, USA
Craig M. Wittenbrink, <cwittenbrink@nvidia.com>
3D Graphics Architect, NVIDIA
2701 San Tomas Expressway, Santa Clara, CA 95050, USA
Yingcai Xiao, <xiao@uakron.edu>
Phone: 330-972-5809, Fax: 330-374-8630
Department of Computer Science, The University of Akron
Ayer 235, Akron, OH 44325-4002, USA

Related Conferences
Home Submission Info Past Conferences Venue
Last modified: 07/05/2004
Created by Caroline Courtney & Katy Börner