Conference on Visualization and Data Analysis 2009 (EI108)

Part of IS&T/SPIE's International Symposium on Electronic Imaging 2009

19-20 January 2009, San Jose, California, USA
Full Paper for Review Due: 1 August 2008*
Final Manuscript Due: 27 October 2008
Final Summary (200 words) Due: 17 November 2008

Description

This conference covers all aspects of visualization and issues affecting successful visualizations. The conference has grown rapidly over the years and has attracted participants from throughout the world. Submissions are peer reviewed with an acceptance rate of ~50% making the quality of the conference and its publications extremely high. We invite you to contribute quality papers covering research results as well as works-in-progress.

The papers from this conference will be published in a bound Proceeding available from SPIE. Authors of the best papers in the conference will have the option of having extended versions of their papers reviewed for publication in the Journal of Electronic Imaging or a future special issue of the Journal of Electronic Imaging focusing on visualization.

Download a Draft Schedule PDF

See photos from VDA 2008

Submit Full Paper for review

Example topics include, but are not limited to:


The conference organizers will also accept suggestions on poster-only presentations, panel topics, and suggestions for invited speakers.

Please contact Mirja Salminen (mirjas@spie.org) or Jinah Park (jinah@icu.ac.kr) if you have any questions or require further information.

go to top Conference Chairs

 

Katy Börner, katy@indiana.edu

Phone: (812) 855-3256, Fax: (812) 855-6166
School of Library and Information Science, Indiana University
10th Street & Jordan Avenue, Bloomington, IN 47405, USA

 

Jinah Park, jinah@icu.ac.kr

Phone: 82-42-866-6147, Fax: 82-42-866-6110
School of Engineering, Information and Communications University, Korea

 

go to top Conference Co-Chairs

 

Ming Hao, ming_hao@hp.com

Phone: (650) 857-3664, Fax: (650) 852-8137
Hewlett-Packard Co.
1501 Page Mill Road, MS 1u2, Palo Alto, CA 94304, USA

Pak Chung Wong, pak.wong@pnl.gov

Phone: (509) 372-4764, Fax: (509) 375-364
Energy Science and Technology Division
Pacific Northwest National Laboratory, P.O. Box 999, K7-28, Richland, WA 99352, USA

Jonathan C. Roberts, j.c.roberts@bangor.ac.uk

Telephone: +44 1227 827571, Facsimile: +44 1227 762811
Bangor University, School of Computer Science
Bangor, UK

Matti Gröhn, Matti.Grohn@csc.fi

Phone: +358 9 4572725, Fax +358 9 457 2302
CSC - Scientific Computing Ltd
P.O. Box 405, 02101 Espoo, Finland

go to top Program Committee

U. Brinkschulte, brinks@ira.uka.de

Phone: +49 (721) 608 - 3898/4362, Fax: +49 (721) 661732
University of Karlsruhe, Institut für Prozessrechentechnik
Automation und Robotik Universität, Karlsruhe (TH)
Haid-und-Neu-Str. 7, D-76131 Karlsruhe, Germany

Paul Craig, P.Craig@napier.ac.uk

Phone: +44 (0)131-455-2786, Fax: +44 (0)131-455-2727
Centre for Information and Software Systems, School of Computing, Napier University,
Merchiston Campus 10 Colinton Road Edinburgh Scotland EH10 5DT

Steve Eick, eick@cs.uic.edu

Phone: (630) 753-8606, Fax: (630) 753-8606
Visual Insights, 215 Shuman Boulevard - Suite 200
Naperville, IL 60566, USA

Robert F. Erbacher, Robert.Erbacher@usu.edu

Phone: (435) 797-3291, Fax: (435) 797-3265
Department of Computer Science, Utah State University
Old Main 414, Logan, UT 84322-4205

Zhanping Liu, zhanpingliu@hotmail.com

Mississippi State University
Engineering Research Center P. O. Box 9627, MS 39762-9627

Joerg Meyer, jmeyer@uci.edu

Phone: (949) 824-9321
University of California
644E Engineering Tower, Irvine, CA 92697-2625

Ing. Hans-George Pagendarm, pagendarm@dlr.de

Phone: +49 (551) 709-2407, Fax: +49 (551) 709-2446
Deutsche Forschungsanstalt für Luft und Raumfahrt
German Aerospace Research, Establishment (DLR)
Institute for Fluid Mechanics, Bunsenstr. 10, D - 37073 Göttingen, Germany

Alex T. Pang, pang@cse.ucsc.edu

Phone: (831) 459-2712, Fax: (831) 459-4829
Computer Science Department, University of California, Santa Cruz, CA 95064, USA

Aaron J. Quigley, aquigley@ucd.ie

Phone: (+353) 1 716 2925
UCD School of Computer Science and Informatics
Computer Science and Informatics Centre,
B2.13, University College Dublin
Belfield, Dublin 4, Ireland

Deborah Silver, silver@caip.rutgers.edu

Dept. of Electrical and Computer Engineering
PO Box 909
Piscataway, NJ 08855-0909, USA

Kalpathi R. Subramanian, krs@uncc.edu

Phone: (704) 687-4872, Fax: (704) 687-3516
Department of Computer Science, Univ. of North Carolina at Charlotte
9201 University City Blvd.
Charlotte, NC 28223

Yinlong Sun, sun@cs.purdue.edu

Phone: (765) 496-7345, Fax: (765) 494-0739
Department of Computer Sciences, Purdue University
W. Lafayette, IN 47907-1390

J. Edward Swan II, swan@acm.org

Phone: (662) 325-7507, FAX: (662) 325-8997
Department of Computer Science & Engineering, 300 Butler Hall
Mississippi State University, MS 39762, USA

Yingcai Xiao, xiao@uakron.edu

Phone: (330) 972-5809, Fax: (330) 374-8630
Department of Computer Science, The University of Akron
Ayer 235, Akron, OH 44325-4002, USA

William J. Yurcik, yurcik@uiuc.edu

Phone: (217) 333-9182
National Center for Supercomputing Applications, University of Illinois
605 East Springfield Avenue, Champaign, Illinois 61820, USA

go to top Related Conferences

*Please note this due date is different from the June 16 date for most conferences in EI 2009


Acknowledgements
We appreciate the generous soponsorship for this Conference by Hewlett Packard.